2016-17 ACAC Men's Volleyball Awards presented at RDC

Date posted: 
Thu, 02/23/2017
2016-17 ACAC Men's Volleyball Awards

The 2016-2017 Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC) Men’s Volleyball Championship is set to get underway on Thursday in the Red Deer College Main Gym. The top 8 ACAC Men’s Volleyball teams will compete for an opportunity to be named conference champions.

Wednesday, these talented student-athletes and coaches gathered in the RDC Arts Centre to recognize and celebrate the 2016-2017 ACAC Men’s Volleyball award winners. The ACAC
consistently produces elite athletes and coaches that excel on a provincial and national level.

ACAC North Coach of the Year and Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Coach of the Year Nominee, Phil Dixon from The King’s University, was caught off guard by his award and nomination and is anticipating an exciting championship.

“It was quite surprising. There are a bunch of great coaches in the north and south” said Dixon. “The CCAA nomination came as a bigger surprise. I’m thankful for this opportunity and I’m looking forward to this week with the guys. There’s going to be some great competition. I’m really looking forward to it.”

ACAC South Coach of the Year, Sean McKay from SAIT, humbly accepted his award amongst a talented pool of coaches.

“There are a ton of great coaches in the south. As a first year coach, it is quite the honour,” said McKay. “I was blessed with a good group of guys, and they make me look good every Friday and Saturday.”

ACAC Men’s Volleyball Player of the Year, ACAC Men’s Volleyball All-Conference South team selection and CCAA All-Canadian Nominee, Isak Helland-Hansen from Medicine Hat College, credited his team for his awards and nomination.

“It has been a great season for our team and it’s really nice to be recognized when you do well. I don’t necessarily take these awards as an individual,” said Helland-Hansen. “I like to recognize my team and it’s a team effort. You can have a bad game and still be successful and I have my team to thank.”

Diane St-Denis, RDC Athletic Director, is grateful for the opportunity to host the ACAC championship and aims to host events at a national level in the near future. “Hosting the Men’s Volleyball Championship gives RDC the opportunity to highlight top student-athletes from across the ACAC,” she said.

And, looking to the fall of 2018, St-Denis highlights how RDC Athletics will “begin using the Gary W. Harris Canada Games Centre, and our teams will begin training and competing in this state-of-the-art facility. We’re excited for the opportunities this will bring, and we’re currently putting the final touches on a bid proposal to host the 2019 CCAA Championships.”

In the immediate future, competition at the ACAC Men’s Volleyball Championship will begin on Thursday in the Red Deer College Main Gym at 1:00 p.m. For a complete schedule of games
and results throughout the weekend, visit rdcathletics.ca.


2016-17 ACAC Men's Volleyball Award Winners, presented February 22 at RDC:

Coach of the Year, North Division - Phil Dixon, The King's University
Coach of the Year, South Division - Sean McKay, SAIT
Player of the Year - Isak Helland-Hansen, Medicine Hat College
Rookie of the Year, North Division - Jakub Zdybek, Keyano College
Rookie of the Year, South Division - Bryan Fountain, Briercrest College
CCAA All Canadian Nominee - Isak Helland-Hansen, Medicine Hat College
CCAA All Canadian Nominee - Tristan Simmonds, Grande Prairie Regional College
CCAA Coach of the Year Nominee - Phil Dixon, The King's University


North All-Conference Team

Kristofer Ames - The King's University
Justin Delorme - Keyano College
Blazej Pellowski - Keyano College
Lucas Robertson - Grande Prairie Regional College
Alex Sabourin - Keyano College
Tristan Simmonds - Grande Prairie Regional College
Brendan Vanderlinde - The King's University
Lyndon Varga - University of Alberta, Augustana
Levi Wolthuis - The King's University
Jakub Zdybek - Keyano College


South All-Conference Team

Luke Brisbane - Red Deer College
Brodie Dolter - Medicine Hat College
Regan Fathers - Red Deer College
Isak Helland-Hansen - Medicine Hat College
Ty Moorman - Red Deer College
Trent Mounter - SAIT
Jackson Oborne - SAIT
Cole Sanderson - Medicine Hat College
Michael Sumner - Red Deer College
Dax Whitehead - Lethbridge College

For information on the volleyball championship results, please visit: rdcathletics.ca

– 30 –

For additional information contact:

Brent Forster
Communications Consultant, Marketing and Communications